All Collections
St Lucia Guide
Banking and Currency On St. Lucia
Banking and Currency On St. Lucia

The dominant currency on the island is the Eastern Caribbean Dollar as well as the US Dollar

Updated over a week ago

Updated 22 June 2023

The unit of currency used in Saint Lucia is the Eastern Caribbean Dollar (EC$) however it is interchangeable with the American US$ Dollar which can also be used on island. 

A wide range of currencies such as the Canadian dollar, Euro and British pound can be converted in our banks. The EC dollar is fixed to the US dollar at the rate of US$1.00 = EC$2.70.

Saint Lucian banks have a full range of banking and foreign currency services. Cash in the local currency, the Eastern Caribbean Dollar, can be obtained by credit cards and debit cards through the ATM machines located at most banks. Normal banking hours are from 8.00 am to 2.00 pm and some banks are open until 5.00 pm on Friday. Banks at the Rodney Bay Marina are also open from 8.00 am until 12.00 noon on Saturday.

East Caribbean States 1 Dollar Banknote, 1965, P-13gu, UNC
Did this answer your question?